Grounds Committee Minutes –May 28, 2013 2:00-3:00 pm C 126

TOPIC / CATEGORY (Action/Information)	PERSON	KEY POINTS / NEXT STEPS [Action]
In attendance:		Nora Brodnicki, Joan Harrison-Buckley, Bruce Nelson, Aaron Ingersoll, Keoni McHone, Loretta Mills, Kirk Pearson, Tom Powell, Richard Rueb
Grounds Committee Chair selection	All	Keoni McHone is the new chair of the Grounds Committee
Approve May 7, 2013 minutes	Loretta	Approved.
Grounds Update	Tom/ Aaron	 Bees near FRC Field mowing to be done this week. On schedule once yearly with TruGreen. Sculpture garden – bark mulch to be done on Friday, prior to garden party. Pond near Forum to be repaired. Plants are still being hosted in Horticulture greenhouse. Contractors hitting trees (Western Red Cedar) with mowers – Tom will be speaking with them. Joan shared that the Pauling pond is to be repaired in early June. Science department funded.
Campus trees health	Bruce	 Bruce would like to start conversation / possible planning for campus trees health Would be a long term project Many of campus trees are 10-30 years old At 10-15 feet trees become too tall for pruning and bad form develops Need a plan for 'training', to include identify trees, funding and work contract. Training can reduce damage in ice or wind storm Trainings main focus would be to look for central leader and correct if necessary. First step would be to conduct a Tree Survey – with a consulting arborist, to prioritize, and determine costs. Should include all campuses: OC, Harmony and Wilsonville Kirk shared that the Campus Services budget is between \$10-20K for safety/removal of trees. Capital funds? (Tree Health Fund)

		 Who to approach? Who would get administrative buy in? Start with Bob Cochran. Kirk and Bruce will start conversation.
Other	All	Kirk's replacement starts June 3 rd .

please email lorettam@clackamas.edu if you are unable to attend.

Meetings: TBD

WHERE TO FIND DOCUMENTS: • Grounds Committee Minutes F:\1minutes\Grounds Committee

Number of handouts to bring: Grounds Committee Council - 12

Grounds Committee Members: Nora Brodnicki, Joan Harrison-Buckley, Alison Heimowitz, Bruce Nelson, Aaron Ingersoll, Keoni McHone, Loretta Mills, TJ McDonough, Kirk Pearson, Tom Powell, Donna Ford, Richard Rueb, ASG Student(s)